A healing gaze on stormy days.

Here is Holy ground. Lord I thank You that I get to be here- for it is such a time as this.

As I sit on my balcony taking in every element of this storm, I am reminded of how quickly it passes. I can visibly see the clouds move with purpose and I hear Your thunder growing closer as if to demand my attention. “Here I am”. I take my eyes off of the world and look up. I am immediately encompassed by every detail of Your dominion and power. I don’t know how long this storm will last but the control You have over every phase not only astounds me, but comforts me.

As quickly as this storm has arrived, I know it will pass just the same. With that in mind, the flashes of lightning and dancing rain hold tightly my gaze. I want to soak it all in just as the soil absorbs every single nutrient the rain provides. I want to learn more. I want to study how the atmosphere changes. I want to see what You are doing and I want to know Your purpose.

Cleansing.

Renewing.

Attention grabbing.

Provision.

Intricate depth in details.

Power and dominion.

Downpour of Grace.

Indescribable comfort in the midst of fear

Peace in the unknown

The thunder grows quiet and the atmosphere begins to brighten. The sound of the rainfall lessens and I can hear the world again. But the air feels so much more clean and refreshing that even when I hear the the world- it’s former shouts are now symphony’s of grace. My perspective has changed and the sounds seem sweeter, like a surprise gift from my Father.

While I long to stay within the closeness and beauty of the storm, God says “Go strengthen your faith muscles and practice intricacies of My love that I have shown you. I will never leave you or forsake you. I am with you in the calm before the storm. I am with you in the fear and confusion during the storm. And I am with you in the deep, cleansing inhale and exhale after the storm. Yahweh. Count each phase a blessing- for I am here, and here is Holy.

Leave a comment